Published on:

I Want To Believe! or Will The Bankruptcy Liaison Committee Become Another Toothless Suggestion Box?

Like many you may be asking what the Bankruptcy Liaison Committee is and what it does. According to the Court’s website the committee was formed (about a year ago) to

promote communication about Court procedures, etiquette, filings and other issues, and to assist the Court and attorneys in creating a more efficient environment.

The committee aims to

develop and sponsor education programs concerning issues affecting the bench, attorneys, financial institutions and consumers.

And to

allow greater interaction between the Court and those who appear before it.

And finally to (big finish)

relay issues, concerns or ideas anonymously … [to be] presented to the Bankruptcy Judges for their review and consideration.

Really? Am I to believe that these elite ex-lawyers with absolute power and jobs for life will be the least bit interested in the opinions of peons, like your humble narrator, over whom they have total control? Is anybody buying this as anything but an excuse for big-firm lawyers (and the U.S. Trustee no less) to further cozy up to the powers that be? Yeah – that ought to level the playing field.

But I digress. Look, I agree that the Bankruptcy Liaison Committee is a worthy attempt to bridge the listening gap between bench and bar. I only hope that it does not share the fate of the other well-intentioned groups that preceded it – only time will tell. In the meantime, congratulations and Godspeed to the members of the 2008-2009 committee (please try to get something accomplished – thank you).

R. Scott Alsterda (Chair)
Ungaretti & Harris LLP

312-977-9203
rsalsterda@uhlaw.com

Lester A. Ottenheimer III
Ottenheimer Teplinsky Rosenbloom

847-520-9407
Lottenheimer@otrlaw.com

Kurt M. Carlson
Tishler & Wald, Ltd.

312-876-3800
kcarlson@tishlerandwald.com

Steve Potts
Steven S. Potts, Attorney at Law

847-291-6823
otispott@comcast.net

Richard Craig Friedman
United States Department of Justice

Office of the United States Trustee

312-886-3320
Richard.C.Friedman@usdoj.gov

Adam P. Silverman
Adelman & Gettleman, Ltd.

312-435-1050
Asilverman@ag-ltd.com

Terri M. Long
Law office of Terri M. Long

708-922-3301
tmlong@tmlong.com

Patricia K. Smoots
McGuireWoods LLP

312-750-2759
psmoots@mcguirewoods.com

Berton J. Maley

Codilis & Associates, P.C.

630-794-9966
bj.maley@il.cslegal.com

Thomas E. Springer

Springer Brown Covey Gaertner & Davis, LLC

630-510-0000
tspringer@springerbrown.com

Leslie Cohen Mc Gregor

Urban & Burt, Ltd.

708-687-5278
lcm@urbanburt.com

Xiaoming Wu

Ledford and Wu

312-294-4400
xwu@ledfordwu.com

Hon. Carol A. Doyle, Chief Judge
312-435-6010

Hon. Susan Pierson Sonderby
312-435-5646

Hon. Bruce W. Black
312-435-6867

Hon. Eugene R. Wedoff
312-435-5644

Hon. Jack B. Schmetterer
312-435-5654

Published on:
Updated: